Tyler May 2018 City Council Candidates

Unofficial Votes

 Mayor, At Large

Martin Heines (Incumbent) - 2,268 Votes

Joel Rando - 287 Votes

District 2,  West -   

Broderick McGee - 269 Votes

Beverly Beavers- Brooks - 230 Votes

District 4 N. East

Don Warren (Incumbent) - 213 Votes

District 6, South -

John Nix (Incumbent)  - 468 Votes

Tyler City Council elections are held in May of each year. The election for Mayor and Council Districts 2, 4, and 6 are held on even numbered years. The election for Council Districts 1, 3, and 5 are held on odd numbered years. All candidates for Tyler City Council elections must register with the City Clerk's Office and meet the following requirements, as set forth in the City Charter:

 Qualifications of Council candidates and Councilmembers

 Each Council candidate and Councilmember shall, in addition to the other qualifications prescribed by law at the time of election

  • Be a qualified voter in the City;

  • Be a resident of the district from which election is sought for at least six months prior to the election;

  • Continue to reside in that district while representing it.

The City Clerk's Office is located on the first floor of Tyler City Hall, 212 N. Bonner. The office is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The Mayor and Council members serve two-year terms, with a term limit of three consecutive terms. They are not paid for their service to the citizens of Tyler.

Tyler residents must be registered voters to participate in the City Council election. Voter registration is handled through the Smith County Voter Registration Office. For more information about who may vote in Texas please view A Guide to Voter Registration published by the Office of the Secretary of State, or call the Smith County Voter Registration Office at 903-590-4777.

2018 Voting Locations

Early Voting:      

304 E. Ferguson St., Tyler, TX

April 23 - May 1 vote from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

April 30th & May 1, 2018 (7:00 am to 7:00 pm)

Election Day:

Saturday May 5th
7 a.m. to 7 p.m.


Polling Locations



Boulter Middle School

2926 Garden Valley Rd

75702 (Tyler)

Glass Recreation Center

501 W 32nd St

75702 (Tyler)

Bell Elementary

1409 Hankerson St

75701 (Tyler)

Rose Heights Church of God

2120 Old Omen Rd

75701 (Tyler)

St Louis Baptist Church

2800 Walton Rd

75701 (Tyler)

Heritage Building

1900 W Bellwood Rd

75702 (Tyler)

1st Church of the Nazerene

3700 Old Bullard Rd

75703 (Tyler)

Shiloh Pines Mobile Home Comm

2525 Shiloh Road

75703 (Tyler)

Three Lakes Middle School

2445 Three Lakes Pkwy

75703 (Tyler)


304 E Ferguson Ave

75702 (Tyler)

Hubbard Middle School

1300 Hubbard Dr.

75703 (Tyler)




2018 Election Calendar

First Day to file for place on ballot Jan. 17, 2018

Last Day to file for place on general election ballot (Mayor at Large, Districts 2, 4 and 6) February 16, 2018     

First Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail March 21, 2018

Last Day to Register to Vote April 5, 2018

First Day of Early Voting April 23, 2018

Last Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail, April 24, 2018(received not postmarked)

Last Day of Early Voting May 1, 2018

Election Day May 5, 2018

Election Returns may be canvassed between May 8-16, 2018

Copyright 2018 by City of Tyler