Board of Adjustments (Zoning)

The Zoning Board of Adjustment consists of five (5) members and two (2) alternate members appointed by the City Council. An alternate member of said Board shall serve in the absence of one (1) or more of the regular members when requested. All cases must be heard by a minimum of four (4) members. Approval of an item requires four (4) affirmative votes.

The Board is required by state law in cities that have zoning and serves to consider and approve variances and special exceptions to normal zoning ordinance requirements, when such are appropriate under state law. The powers of the Board are to hear and decide appeals where it is alleged there is an error in any order, requirement, decision or determination made by the chief inspector or any other administrative official in the enforcement of the zoning ordinance.

The Board shall adopt rules. Meetings of the Board shall be held at the call of the chairman and at such other times as the Board may determine. Such chairman, or in his absence the acting chairman, may administer oaths and compel the attendance of witnesses. All meetings of the Board shall be open to the public. The Board shall keep minutes of its proceedings, showing the vote of each member upon each question, or if absent or failing to vote, indicating such actions, all of which shall be immediately filed in the office of the Board and shall be a public record.

(Please refer to Sec. 10-251 of the City of Tyler Code for more information.)


Board Members
Place Name Term


Benjamin Moore 2017-2019


Nathan Foreman 2016-2020


David Hudson 2017-2019


Brent Brevard 2016-2020


John Landes 2018-2020


John Musselman



Judith Guthrie (Chair) 2016-2020


Staff Liaison: Kyle Kingma

Copyright 2019 by City of Tyler