Search

News Article

    
Print this Article Email this Article
 
Third annual Downtown Tyler ornament now available

November 30, 2017


Press Release
For Immediate Release
Nov. 30, 2017
 
Third annual Downtown Tyler ornament now available
 
The latest edition of the Downtown Tyler collector Christmas tree ornament series is now available. This year’s ornament features the historic Goodman-LeGrand home and museum.
 
Ornaments are available for $15 each at Gallery Main Street, 110 W. Erwin St. Ornaments from 2015 and 2016 featuring the People’s Petroleum Building and Liberty Hall are also available for $15 each. A set of one of each ornament is available for $40, a discount of $5.
 
“The ornaments help us accomplish two important goals,” said Beverly Abell of the City of Tyler Main Street Department. “They generate funds for downtown revitalization programming, but they also are a beautiful, visible reminder of Tyler’s unique history and architecture.”
 
The Goodman home was originally built in 1859 as a one-story, four-room house, and it was established on a nine-acre wooded parcel of land. It was known as Bonnie Castle by its first owner and occupant, Samuel Gallatin Smith. The next owner who bought the home in 1861 was Franklin N. Gary, a local school teacher.
In 1866, a year after the Civil War ended, Dr. Samuel Adams Goodman, a retired country doctor from South Carolina, purchased the house from Mr. Gary. The following year in 1867, his son, Dr. William Jeffries Goodman, a local doctor, Civil War major and chief surgeon, bought the house from his father and moved in with his new bride, Mary Priscilla Gaston. For 73 years and four generations, this prominent family made the house their family home. In 1940, Sally Goodman donated the home to the City of Tyler, with instructions to maintain it as a museum.
 
Visit www.CityofTyler.org or call (903) 593-6905 for more information.
###
 
 

 
Return to main page