User Login

Planning Commission

Planning & Zoning Commission Board

The City's Planning Commission consists of seven (7) members. This Board shall have the power and the duty to Make and adopt rules and regulations governing its procedures. The Board primarily acts to recommend zoning to the City Council, review and recommend annexations and approve plats.

The Board shall make and adopt a master plan for the physical development of the City, including any area outside of its boundaries but within five (5) miles thereof. Such master plan with accompanying maps, plats, charts, and descriptive matter shall show the Board's recommendation for the development of the City as well as the territory within the area above mentioned including streets, parks, public buildings and other public property and general location and extent of public utilities and transportation.

Meets the first (1) Tuesday at 1:30 pm, City Hall Council Chambers

Tyler Planning Commission meetings are broadcast on Suddenlink Channel 3 starting at 2 a.m. and 7 p.m. on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays.


Board Members
Place Name Term


Jeb Jones (Chair) 2014-2018


David Dobbs 2018-2020


Felicity Reedy 2013-2019


Blair Swaim 2017-2019


Pamela Phoenix 2017-2019


Elizabeth Whitney (Beth) 2017-2018


Jimmy Reed 2017-2019


Staff liaison: Heather Nick

Mailing address:

P.O. Box 2039, Tyler, TX, 75710
(903) 531-1100

Dial 2-1-1 to access the health and social services available to East Texans.