Tyler Public Library Board

The Tyler Public Library Board is composed of seven (7) members appointed by the City Council. The Tyler Public Library Board shall

a. Advise the City Council and City Manager:

1. on present and future needs of the library;

2. on adequate funding for library services, including recommendations
for the proposed annual operating budget;

3. on matters relating to library policies;

4. on other matters relating to library services;

b. Maintain a familiarity with state and federal regulations and grant programs pertaining to library services and, at the direction of the City Council, act as representatives of the City before various governmental and citizen groups;

c. Establish the time and place, procedures for board meetings to be held at least four (4) times per year;

d. Select a vice chairperson from among its members.

The City Librarian shall act as the City Manager's liaison to the board and shall serve as secretary and assist the board in the carrying out of its duties.


Board Members
Place Name Term


Sharon Gullett  2013-2015


Marion Branum 2014-2016


Ruth "Casey" Fisher (chair) 2009-2015


Thomas Fernandez 2012-2016


Vacant 2013-2015


Toni Ferrell 2012-2016


Shana Steele 2011-2015


Staff liaison: Mary Vernau

Copyright 2017 by City of Tyler