Historic PreservationAbout Us
Historic Preservation
423 West Ferguson
Tyler, TX, 75702
Phone: (903) 531-1174
M-F 8 A.M. to 5 P.M.
Send E-Mail

About Us
Tyler's History
Partners in Preservation
Event Calendar
Historic Resource Survey
Strategic Plan
Local Landmarks
National Districts
Half Mile of History
Subject Markers
Local Historic Overlay Districts
Historic Tax Abatement & Credits
COA Process
Publications & Resources
Helpful Documents
Planning Department
About Us

Protecting and Honoring Tyler!

The Tyler Historical Preservation Board was created in 1969 and has been responsible for promoting and designating areas of historical, cultural or architectural importance and significance in the Tyler community. The purpose of the board is to recognize and preserve historic landmarks through a voluntary program of owner participation. The board is comprised of nine members appointed by the Tyler City Council. Their duties and responsibilities include reviewing and considering landmark applications for designation.

The City Council finds that the recognition and preservation of historic landmarks is in the public interest and serves to promote the welfare of the community. The purpose of the Historic Preservation ordinance is to preserve the historic structures of the community through a voluntary program of owner participation, and to carry out the City's responsibilities as a Certified Local Government.

Public Board Meeting

When: 1st Wednesday of every month
Time: 1:30 P.M.
Where: 423 W. Ferguson St.

Click here to view the upcoming agenda


Certified Local Government - 1994

Preserve America Community - 2016

- Official Signed Declaration

- Official signed Designation letter 

Historic Preservation Staff

Amber Rojas-Varona

Historic Preservation Officer


Board Members

  • Zach Sabota - Chair
  • Laura Jackson 
  • Chris Leahy
  • Dewayne Manning
  • Ginger Haberle
  • JB Smith
  • Andy Moers
  • Vicki Betts
  • Matt Rowan
  • Clarence Shackleford