PlanningAbout Us

423 W. Ferguson
Tyler, TX, 75702

Phone: (903)531-1175
Hours: M-Th: 8 AM-5 PM
             Friday: 8 AM-12 PM

Staff Directory
STAFF NAME                                  TITLE                                                                                                  PHONE
Heather Nick, AICP Managing Director of Planning & Economic Development 903-531-1175 Opt. 5 
Kyle Kingma, AICP, CFM Planning Manager 903-531-1178
Michael Howell, EIT MPO Manager/Principal Planner 903-531-1173
Tharani Krishnakumar, CFM Senior Planner 903-595-7282
Lindsay Mesa Planner
Ryan Clark Planner 903-531-1172
Zach Clark

Planning Technician 

903-531-1175 Opt. 5

Functions of the Department
  • Zoning Administration
  • Variance Request Administration
  • Thoroughfare Closure/Name Changes
  • Annexations
  • Subdivision Plat Review
  • Historic Preservation
  • TABC Permit Review
  • Comprehensive Planning
  • Special Planning Studies
  • Unified Development Code Administration
  • Boards & Commissions:The Planning & Zoning Department oversees the Planning & Zoning Commission, Zoning Board of Adjustments, and the Historical Preservation Board.
Contact Us!

View our FAQ page!

Planning Department
423 W. Ferguson, Tyler, TX 75702 
P.O. Box 2039, Tyler, TX 75710-2039 
Phone: (903) 531-1175 Opt. 5

The Building Services Department administrates
the permitting or inspection functions.
To contact their department call (903) 531-1151. 
Visit their website at
Schedule or Cancel Inspection:
Permitting Questions: Opt. 3

Watch A Meeting!
Planning & Zoning Commission meetings are broadcast on Suddenlink Cable Channel 3 starting at 2 a.m. and 7 p.m. Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday of each month
Copyright 2019 by City of Tyler