1904 - Established
1979, March 29 - Added to U.S. National Register of Historic Places
1981, May 28 - Designated as Texas State Antiquities Landmark
1980 - Tyler Public Library relocated to a new facility. Carnegie Building renovated by Smith County Historical Society.
1984 - Carnegie History Center opened
2010 - Designated as Recorded Texas Historic Landmark
Industrialist and philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie, granted funds to the City of Tyler for the construction of a library. Completed in 1904, this building served as Tyler’s public library until 1980 and remains one of the few original Carnegie Libraries in Texas. Unique features include the domed ceiling in the meeting room and arched stage in the auditorium. In 1982, the building was renovated to accommodate the archives of the Smith County Historical Society, as well as a historical museum. Public exhibits are continually being collected for permanent and rotating displays. The auditorium is available for public use.
Inside the Carnegie Library back in the day
If you have historical information to contribute (people, buildings, dates, photographs, etc.) please submit the information by clicking here. Include who should be credited for the information.