For the latest news and information on Coronavirus in Smith County, please visit For City of Tyler's phased re-opening plan, visit our update page.

Parks Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The City of Tyler Park Board is composed of nine (9) appointed members. The Park Board shall act in any advisory capacity, to which may be referred any matters pertaining to the operation and maintenance of all the City parks and cemeteries, and shall make recommendations to the City Manager and City Council with reference to the operation and maintenance of the public parks in the City, as well as for the extension of park areas and acquisition of new park sites.

The Board may provide for entertainment and recreation in the public parks of any kind deemed fit and proper by it. The operation and maintenance of any recreation and amusement facilities under the direction of the Park Board or City Council shall be deemed done in pursuit of the general prosperity, convenience, health and recreation of the people, and shall be deemed and considered to be done in the governmental capacity of the City and not in its proprietary capacity.

The Park Board shall, before the City Council makes its annual budget, each year prepare and submit to the governing body its recommendations concerning extension and improvement of the public park property, as well as recommendations, for the acquisition of additional park sites within or without the City.

Board Members

  1. Dr. Paul Wick, 2019-2021
  2. Karen Christie, 2015-2021
  3. Justin Hargrove, 2019-2021
  4. Orenthia Mason, 2018-2020
  5. Jim Cousineau, 2018-2021
  6. Brittany Childs, 2018-2020
  7. Shwana Flowers, 2019-2020
  8. Lesa Waler, 2016-2020
  9. Justin Ryan Fenley, 2016-2021
  • Staff Liaison: Russ Jackson