For the latest news and information on Coronavirus in Smith County, please visit For City of Tyler's phased re-opening plan, visit our update page.

Auto Theft Task Force

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Detective Gary King

Detective Gary King

Contact: 903-590-4911
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Monday thru Friday

The Tyler Police Department is dedicated to controlling crime not only in Tyler but throughout the East Texas community. This is proven by our commitment to several area Crime Task Forces, which are multi-agency groups dedicated to specific criminal problems.

The East Texas Auto Theft Task Force is a multi-agency task force which is funded by the Texas Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority and administered by the Smith County District Attorney's Office. Its members include four law enforcement officers and one secretary from the following police agencies: Department of Public Safety, Tyler Police Department, Smith County Sheriff's Office, Rusk County Sheriff's Office and Upshur County Sherriffs Office

The East Texas Auto Theft Task Force focuses on a 14 county geographical area, having a population of 756,796, and involving Smith, Rusk, Gregg, Cherokee, Henderson, Harrison, Panola, Rains, Van Zandt, Upshur, Camp, Anderson, Wood and Marion counties. They encompass a total of 9,721 square miles. Officers are often called to assist these area law enforcement officers in auto theft investigations.

The East Texas Auto Theft Task Force officers conduct area Vehicle Identification Number etching events as well as public awareness speaking engagements as requested.